Outstanding SBM-G contributions are recognized during Swachh Bharat Diwas 2020

Marking six years of the launch of the Swachh Bharat Mission, Swachh Bharat Diwas 2020 observed on Gandhi Jayanthi was celebrated virtually by the Department of Drinking Water and Sanitation, Ministry of Jal Shakti on October 2, 2020.  As done each year, Swachh Bharat Puraskars were distributed for outstanding contributions to the campaigns of Swachh Bharat Mission Grameen (SBM-G).

The top awards went to Gujarat, Uttar Pradesh, Haryana, Telangana, Tamil Nadu, Madhya Pradesh, and Punjab.   The virtual ceremony was witnessed by officials of the central, state and district SBM-G.

Speaking at the event, Union Minister for Jal Shakti, Shri Gajendra Singh Shekhawat recalled that when the PM announced the launch of the Swachh Bharat Mission in 2014, many had thought it was an unachievable task.  However, owing to the support and contribution of crores of Indians, we have come this far, he said, adding that the achievements have been acknowledged worldwide.  The Union Minister called for sustaining the gains from the mission and continue the journey to impact the maximum lives possible.

On the importance of ODF Plus, he said it was Gandhi Ji’s vision to make our villages Aatma Nirbhar (self-reliant), Swachh (clean) and Swasth (healthy).  In Phase 2 of SBM, we are on a journey to attain that vision and contribute towards building a new India.   “Now the aim is towards attaining ‘Sampurn Swachhata’ where we will focus on sustaining the momentum of swachhata and successfully implement ‘solid and liquid waste management’ programmes,” he said.

Also addressing the participants, Shri Rattan Lal Kataria, Minister of State talked about the oath taken by the people of this country to fulfil Gandhiji’s dream of a Swachh Bharat.  While we have achieved it, is time for us to renew our pledge to move towards an ODF Plus future. 

Shri Kataria said that sustaining the momentum of Swachhata was our responsibility and it was important for us to continue the journey and at the same time inspire others to be a part of it.  He added that in Phase II of SBM, special care would be taken towards maintaining the cleanliness of public places and to construct more of community sanitary complexes to ensure access to safe sanitation for all.

Offering his comments, Shri U.P. Singh, Secretary, DDWS congratulated everyone for their unwavering efforts toward building a Swachh Bharat.  “We have crossed a major milestone. But our journey continues. Let us work together and move towards ODF Plus now,” he said.

The Secretary reiterated the need to sustain our ODF status and focus equally on solid and liquid waste management to build a Swachh and Swasth Bharat, echoing Bapu’s vision.  He complimented all the states’ SBMG teams for making a significant contribution in Phase 1 of SBMG and stressed that goals outlined under Phase 2 are more important concerning sustainability and comprehensive cleanliness.

In his closing address, Shri. Arun Baroka, Additional Secretary, DDWS congratulated all the students from across the country who participated in various initiatives, despite the pandemic.  He also thanked everyone for their relentless contribution to building a Swachh and Swasth Bharat.

Sampurn Swachhata:  During the event, the Minister of Jal Shakti launched the e-book – Sampurn Swachhata that outlines the roadmap for the next 5 years of SBM.  Also, a film that captures the phenomenal 5-year journey of the SBM and the roadmap for an ODF Plus future was screened.

Awards ceremony:  Mass campaigns such as Swachh Sundar Samudayik Shauchalaya (SSSS) held from 1st November 2019 to 31 March 2020, Samudayik Shauchalaya Abhiyan (SSA) from 15th June to 15th September 2020, and Gandagi Mukt Bharat from 8-15 August 2020 organized over the last one year have been complimenting the efforts for achieving ODF Plus objectives with stress on community toilets and SLWM.  Awards were given at Swachh Bharat Diwas 2020 in recognition of worthy contributions made by community members for boosting the People’s movement.

Over 50,000 Community Toilet Complexes (CSCs) were constructed under these campaigns over the last one year for improving the universal access of safe sanitation facilities in rural India. Under the Gandagi Mukt Bharat (GMB) painting and essay competition, more than 24.4 Lakh students participated. Also, under GMB, 8.48 lakh IEC messages were painted on walls and billboards.

Here are the awards distributed and announced at SBD 2020:

Samudayik Shauchalaya Abhiyan:

Special recognition for maximum progress during SSA:

  • Andaman and Nicobar Islands
  • Aligarh District, Uttar Pradesh

GKRA (Garib Kalyan Rojgar Abhiyan) State

  1. Uttar Pradesh
  2. Bihar

GKRA District:

  1. Prayagraj, Uttar Pradesh
  2. Hardoi, Uttar Pradesh
  3. Fatehpur, Uttar Pradesh

Non-GKRA State

  1. Gujarat (non GKRA)
  2. Maharashtra (non GKRA)
  3. Andhra Pradesh (non GKRA)

Non-GKRA District:

  1. Bareilly, Uttar Pradesh
  2. Aligarh, Uttar Pradesh
  3. Jalgaon, Maharashtra

Gram Panchayat: 

  1. Borigaon, Bongaigaon, Assam
  2. Kadakkal, Kerala
  3. Khurd, Yavatmal, Maharashtra

Swachh Sundar Samudayik Shauchalaya (SSSS)


  1. Gujarat
  2. Andhra Pradesh
  3. Haryana


  1. Tirunelveli, Tamil Nadu
  2. Thoothukudi
  3. Valsad, Gujarat


  1. Khachrod Block, Ujjain District, Madhya Pradesh
  2. Kaprada, Valsad, Gujarat
  3. Srivaikundam, Thoothukudi, Tamil Nadu

Gram Panchayat:

  1. Chinnaur, Salem, Tamil Nadu
  2. Kanhalgaon, Bhandara, Maharashtra
  3. Pabo, Pauri, Uttarakhand

Gandagi Mukt Bharat (GMB)

State with maximum ODF Plus villages:

  1. Haryana
  2. Chhattisgarh
  3. Andhra Pradesh

State with maximum Shramdaan: 

  1. Telangana
  2. Uttar Pradesh
  3. Maharashtra

District with max villages with all IEC messages painted: 

  1. Moga, Punjab
  2. Purba Champaran
  3. Karimnagar, Telangana

Gandagi Mukt Bharat (GMB) Painting Competition

  1. Vegand Gaonkar, North Goa
  2. Swastika Pal, West Kolkata, West Bengal
  3. Radhika Kumari, Bhojpur, Bihar

Gandagi Mukt Bharat (GMB) Essay Competition

  1. Shweta Shriwas, Gandhigram, Madhya Pradesh
  2. Tswang Choskit, Ladakh
  3. Anees K, Wayanad, Kerala
  4. Komal Sharma, Bhilwara, Rajasthan

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s